Recognizing Those Who Go the Second Mile!

Recognizing Those Who Go the Second Mile!

By Nazarene Discipleship International, | 13 Nov 2023

Second Mile Award

 ““You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’ But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also.  And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well If anyone forces you to go one mile, go with them two miles. Give to the one who asks you, and do not turn away from the one who wants to borrow from you.” (Matthew 5:38-42)


In 1992, these Bible verses became a foundation for creating the NDI Second Mile Award that recognizes individuals for their outstanding efforts in the discipleship ministry. Since then, over 3,200 Nazarene disciple makers have received the award across USA and Canada. We are confident that Jesus wants going the second mile to be our life motto both in personal and ministry endeavors.


What is the Purpose of the Second Mile Award?


Have you encountered disciple makers who have gone beyond the norm of what is expected? Jesus encourages his followers to offer themselves beyond what is required, to do more than is expected, because “It is the Lord Christ you are serving” (Colossians 3:24, NIV).

The Second Mile Award recognizes those who show an exceptional spirit of faithful service and outstanding participation in the pursuit of the mission, “To make Christlike disciples in the nations.” They have been Christlike disciples and followers of Jesus who have helped others become more Christlike.

Although it is presented through Nazarene Discipleship International (NDI), this award is intended for anyone deserving of recognition for going the second mile, including Sunday school teachers and small group leaders, local NDI leaders, other laity, pastors, and district leaders. Some have been publicly visible while others have quietly been working behind the scenes, impacting lives for Christ.

Jesus especially emphasized this way of going beyond what is expected, and so NDI wants to recognize those who follow Christ’s lead in this way. We encourage you to be intentional about honoring those who go the second mile in making Christlike disciples.

If you’re interested in ordering the award, follow this link here. All proceeds support the provision of discipleship resources across the globe, including countries with restricted access and distant areas with limited resources.

Second Mile Award Recipients 2023


Lesli Carney

Tina Redd

Ada Elena Riley Barrios

Dean Seward

Al Bledsoe

Keith and Denise Pinnick

Molly Tennant

Roger and Patsy Fillebaum

Sharron Shands

Ron Bailey

Ray McCrary

Randall Willis

Charlie Moore

Earl Burton Shorr

Theda Burch

Diana Jane Parsons

Stephen Purtee

Ralph Murphy

Christina Gunter

Lynn Regan

Nirky Paulino

Terry Locke II

Frankie Fugate

Rachael Watts

Doris Cook

Jeanette Meo

Paul and Wilma Gentry

Margie Foster Moseley

Gary Statler

Mark Roberts

Rick and Tonya Derryberry

Misty Kalbfleisch

Barbara Belanger

Paul Crisp

Mike and Ellen Nieman

Tim and Stacie Pierson

David Graves

Dorothy Whipp

Trey Brooks

Cheryl Samples

James Bellomy

Joyce Nettles

Harry Leviner

Tom Zile

Bill Bean